Winners of the Nigerian Healthcare Excellence Awards 2017

The Nigerian Healthcare Excellence Award (NHEA) in a well-attended and glamourous ceremony in Lagos celebrated key stakeholders in the Nigeria healthcare sector. Professor Ibironke Akinsete and Pharm (Mazi) Sam Ohubunwa were presented the Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 4th edition of the NHEA award.

Also, those who received honours in an event sponsored by Sterling Bank and PharmAccess Foundation are; GE Healthcare (Biomedical Engineering Service Provider of the Year), Lagoon Hospitals (Private Healthcare Provider of the Year), SaferMom (PharmAccess Innovative Healthcare Service Provider of the Year), Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano (Tertiary Healthcare Provider of the Year), Medplus (Pharmaceutical Retail Outlet of the Year), and Nordica Fertility (IVF Service Provider of the Year) amongst others.

Speaking at the ceremony, Chairman of the NHEA Advisory Board, Dr. Anthony Omolola expressed the excitement of the organisers for the growing support and acceptance the award is receiving from stakeholders.

“We are very excited and happy with the kind of support and confidence this award is receiving. Your honoured presence and active participation have continued to be a source of encouragement to us.”
In his acceptance remarks, Pharm Ohuabunwa says, “With the personalities here tonight and those being celebrated I have no doubt about the credibility of this award. Nigerian Healthcare workers put in so much and they are hardly recognized or celebrated. I thank everyone who put this together.”Furthermore, Omolola spoke about changes the award has under gone over the years and the future plans. “Our evaluation process has improved tremendously through the application of technology / automation and some of the key changes and improvement includes; online nomination and E-voting which are now part of the process, increased physical site verification and research teams who now do evaluation and review of submitted information, and in the coming years NHEA will expand this site verification exercise to all states in Nigeria, also an internal auditor that audits the NHEA processes”.

Moses Braimah, NHEA Director for Communication, Marketing & Strategy says, “this award is a stimulus designed to catalyse the Nigerian healthcare sector into greater heights through improvement and accessibility. We are proud and happy with the results we are getting”.

NHEA is organized by Global Health Projects & Resources in collaboration with Anadach USA.


1. Lifetime Achievement Award
• Prof. (Mrs.) Ibironke Akinsete
• Pharm. (Mazi) Sam Ohuabunwa

2. Nursing & Midwifery Excellence Award of the Year
• Prof. Ezekiel Olasunkanmi Ajao (Babcock University)

3. Outstanding State Healthcare Programme of the Year
• Delta State Contributory Health Insurance Scheme

4. Healthcare Media Excellence Award – Print
• Pharmanews

5. Healthcare Media Excellence Award – Electronic
• Mary Alale-Yusuf (Channels TV)

6. Healthcare Friendly Financial Institution of the Year
• Diamond Bank Plc

7. Private Healthcare Provider of the Year
• Lagoon Hospitals

8. Private Laboratory Service Provider of the Year
• Pathcare Laboratories – Lagos

9. Radiology Service Provider of the Year 
• Clinix Healthcare – Lagos

10. Health Maintenance Organisation of the Year 
• Total Health Trust Limited (a member of Liberty Holdings South Africa)

11. PharmAccess Innovative Healthcare Service Provider of the Year
• SaferMom

12. IVF Service Provider of the Year
• Nordica Fertility

13. Dialysis Service Provider of the Year 
• Renal Dialysis Centre

14. Eye care Service Provider of the Year
• Eye Foundation Hospital

15. Dental Service Provider of the Year
• Smiles 360 Dental Specialist

16. Physiotherapy Service Provider of the Year
• Body Mechanics Physiotherapy and Wellness Centre

17. Tertiary Healthcare provider of the Year
• Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital, Kano

18. Healthcare Information Technology Provider of the Year
• Armpersand Logistics

19. Biomedical Engineering Service Provider of the Year
• GE Healthcare

20. Laboratory Equipment Marketing Company of the Year
• DCL Laboratory Product Ltd. – Abuja

21. Hospital Equipment Marketing Company of the Year 
• JNC International

22. Pharmaceutical Retail Outlet of the Year 
• Medplus Pharmacy

23. Pharmaceutical (Manufacturer) Operation Excellence
Company of the Year 
• Emzor Pharmaceutical Industries Limited

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *